UNOW Board of Trustees

Role and Responsibilities

The legal governing entity of the school is the Board of Trustees. The Board of Trustees consists of UNOW’s director, three teacher trustees, 2 University-appointed trustees, 6-8 community-elected trustees, and 6-8 Board-elected trustees. Community elections for the Board take place each spring. Trustees serve three year terms beginning on July 1 and ending on June 30.

The Board of Trustees is responsible for overseeing the director and the overall functioning of the school. The board is also responsible for interpretation of the By-Laws. The Board is not responsible for the classroom program or the day-to-day operations of the school.


Normally, all meetings of the Board of Trustees are open to all members of the community (teachers, administrators, and parents or guardians of enrolled children).  A proposed agenda and the date and time for the meetings are distributed via email to the UNOW community prior to the meeting. Normally, meetings are held in the UNOW multipurpose room (The Meadow).

Committee Structure

The Board’s committee structure varies from year to year. It always includes: 

  • Finance – supports and oversees budget planning, monitors the school’s finances
  • Governance – Board Recruitment, Member Orientation, Review of By-Laws

Other committees may be included:

  • Strategic Planning – Long term planning for the school and review of mission and goals.
  • Communications – facilitating communication between the Board and the UNOW Community
  • Fundraising – small scope fundraising activities